## Minutes of the 13th Meeting of the National Commission for SCs

13<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the National Commission for Scheduled Castes (NCSC) was held at 1.00 PM on 18.04.2011 under the Chairmanship of Dr. P.L. Punia, Chairman in the Conference Hall of the Commission. The list of participants is as at <u>Annexure-I.</u>

The Commission discussed the following agenda items:-

Agenda Item No.1:	Action taken on the minutes of the Tenth meeting of
	the Commission held on 28.02.2011.

The Commission noted and approved the action taken on the minutes of Tenth Meeting of the Commission.

Agenda Item No.2: Action taken on the minutes of the Eleventh meeting of the Commission held on 14.03.2011.

The Commission noted and approved the action taken.

Agenda Item No.3: Confirmation of the minutes of the Twelfth meeting of the Commission held on 28.03.2011.

The Commission confirmed the minutes of the Twelfth meeting of the Commission held on 28.03.2011.

Agenda Item No.4: Action taken on the minutes of the 12<sup>TH</sup> meeting of the Commission held on 28.03.2011.

The Commission noted and approved the action taken.

### Agenda Item No.5:

Notice of Supreme Court in Writ Petition Civil No.533 of 2008 by Dr. Shahdeen Ali Tomar, (belonging to the backward class) Vs. Union of India in which NCSC is at respondent No.2 regarding prayer to issue a writ of Mandamus to the respondentNo.4 (Delimitation Commission of 2002) to notify that the reserved constituency shall be rotated after each general election, to distribute 17SC reserved Parliament seats in 17 of the 40 Parliament Constituencies in the State of Uttar Pradesh and rotate the same after every election and to distribute the reserved Parliament seats in all the Parliament Constituencies where the percentage of SC more than 20% and there after rotate after same each general election.

The above issue was discussed and it was decided that the NCSC should write to Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment and Ministry of Law & Justice apposing this move as this will not benefit to the SCs. Rather, it may be counter productive. All Members of Parliament including those belonging to Scheduled Castes are expected to look after the interest of all sections of the society including Scheduled Castes. In case, there is rotation every time, the MPs will lose interest in work knowing that he is not going to represent that constituency next time. Shifting of constituency every five years would not attract any sincerity/labiality towards any SC as the present system of reservation in election is enabling the other castes to decide the winning candidate, not the SCs. The Member of Parliament Local area Development (MPLAD) Scheme is meant for equal distribution of benefits to all citizens so there is no need to shift the constituency every five years. Even the special programmes meant for SCs i.e. SCP (SCSP) has not been implemented for the last 31 years despite the political bill which goes to prove the exclusiveness also not implemented if it is for SCs i.e. "Rolling Stone Bill never gather mass".

In view of this NCSC is not in favour of rotation of the constituencies.(Action: ESDW)

#### Agenda Item No: 6: Computerization and Modernization of NCSC

2

The Commission noted the progress in the proposal for computerization and modernization of the Commission.

# Additional Agenda Item No: 7:

# Comments of the NCSC on the Scheduled Castes and the Scheduled Tribes (Reservation in Posts and Services) Bill, 2008.

The matter was taken up in the 13<sup>th</sup> meeting of the Commission. It was decided that the comments of the earlier Commission and the proposed comments of the present Commission may be forwarded to the Committee on the Employment and Reservation for final recommendation on this issue so as to recommend the same to Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment. (Action: SSW)

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to the chair.

13th MEETING OF THE NATIONAL COMMISSION FOR SCHEDULED CASTES HELD AT 1.00 PM ON 18.04.2011 IN THE CONFERENCE ROOM OF THE COMMISSION.

### PRESENCE OF MEMBERS AND OFFICERS

## S.NO. NAME & DESIGNATION

- 1. Dr. P.L. Punia, Chairman
- 2. Shri Raj Kumar Verka, Vice-Chairman
- 3. Shri Raju Parmar, Member
- 4. Shri M. Shivanna, Member

## Officers

- 1. Dr. V.K. Rathi, Director
- 2. Shri Dhruv Kumar, Director
- 3. Shri S. Kesava Iyer, Deputy Secretary

4

4. Shri S.N. Meena, Under Secretary