Minutes of the 12^{th Meeting} of the National Commission for SCs

12th Meeting of the National Commission for Scheduled Castes (NCSC) was held at 2.30PM on 28.03.2011 under the Chairmanship of Dr. P.L. Punia, Chairman in the Conference Hall of the Commission. The list of participants is as at <u>Annexure-I.</u>

The Commission discussed the following agenda items:-

Agenda Item No.1: Action taken on the minutes of the Tenth meeting of the Commission held on 28.02.2011.

The Commission noted and approved the action taken on the minutes of Tenth Meeting of the Commission.

Agenda Item No.2: Confirmation of the minutes of the Eleventh meeting of the Commission held on 14.03.2011.

The Commission confirmed the minutes of the Eleventh meeting of the Commission held on 14.03.2011.

Agenda Item No.3: Action taken on the minutes of the Eleventh meeting of the Commission held on 14.03.2011.

The Commission noted and approved the action taken.

Agenda Item No.4: Railway concession for SC/ST/Minorities for studies and research etc. –Representation Shri Radha Kanta Tripathy, Advocate, 27, Old Lawyer Chambers, Supreme Court of India, New Delhi.

The Commission agreed to the proposal for grant of concession in train fares to the SC students for traveling for the purpose of Research/Studies. The Commission recommended that a letter should be sent to the Ministry of Railways for the necessary action. (Action: ESDW)

Agenda Item No5: Computerization and Modernization of NCSC

The Commission noted the progress in the proposal for computerization of the Commission.

As regards modernization, Hon'ble Chairman observed that the present office premises may be got renovated and additional space may also be obtained for the purpose of large Conference Hall, Two Court Rooms, Waiting Rooms for the petitioners/visitors and a proper Library. (Action: Genl. Admn.)

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to the chair.

Annexure-I

12th MEETING OF THE NATIONAL COMMISSION FOR SCHEDULED CASTES HELD AT 1.00 PM ON 28.03.2011 IN THE CONFERENCE ROOM OF THE COMMISSION.

PRESENCE OF MEMBERS AND OFFICERS

S.NO. NAME & DESIGNATION

- 1. Dr. P.L. Punia, Chairman
- 2. Shri Raj Kumar Verka, Vice-Chairman
- 3. Shri Raju Parmar, Member
- 4. Shri M. Shivanna, Member
- 5. Smt. Latha Priyakumar, Member

Officers

- 1. Dr. V.K. Rathi, Director
- 2. Shri Dhruv Kumar, Director
- 3. Shri S. Kesava Iyer, Deputy Secretary
- 4. Shri S.N. Meena, Under Secretary