#### Minutes of the 9th Meeting of the National Commission for SCs

Ninth Meeting of the National Commission for Scheduled Castes (NCSC) was held at 12.30 PM on 14.02.2011 under the Chairmanship of Dr. P.L. Punia, Chairman in the Conference Hall of the Commission. The list of participants is as at <u>Annexure-I.</u>

The Commission discussed the following agenda items:-

## Agenda Item No.1: Action taken on the minutes of the Sixth meeting of the Commission held on 10.01.2011.

The action taken on decisions taken in the Sixth meeting of the Commission held on 10.01.2011 were noted and approved by the Commission.

# Agenda Item No.2: Confirmation of the minutes of the Seventh meeting of the Commission held on 24.01.2011.

The Commission confirmed the minutes of the Seventh meeting of the Commission held on 24.01.2011.

## Agenda Item No.3: Action taken on the minutes of the Seventh meeting of the Commission held on 24.01.2011.

The action taken on decisions taken in the Seventh meeting of the Commission held on 24.01.2011 were noted and approved by the Commission.

## Agenda Item No.4: Confirmation of the minutes of the Eighth meeting of the Commission held on 31.01.2011.

The Commission confirmed the minutes of the Eighth meeting of the Commission held on 31.01.2011.

Agenda Item No.5: Action taken on the minutes of the Eighth meeting of the Commission held on 31.01.2011.

The action taken on decisions taken in the Eighth meeting of the Commission held on 31.01.2011 were noted and approved by the Commission.

## Agenda Item No.6: Inspection for release of grants-in-aid to the NGOs implementing welfare schemes of govt. for SCs.

This Agenda Item could not be discussed in the 9<sup>th</sup> meeting held on 14.02.2011 and therefore deferred for discussion in the next meeting proposed to be held on 28.02.2011.

Agenda Item No.7:	Reference received from the Ministry of Social Justice		
-	& Empowerment regarding decisions of the National		
	Commission for Scheduled Castes (NCSC) taken in its		
	5 <sup>th</sup> & 7 <sup>th</sup> meeting held on 18.9.2007 and 18.12.2007, and		
	28 <sup>th</sup> meeting held on 22.4.2010 regarding specification		
	of Scheduled Caste converts to Christianity and Islam		
	as	Scheduled	Castes.

The issue of inclusion of Dalit Christian and Dalit Muslims in the Scheduled Castes list was discussed at length. After the discussion the Commission decided that the issue should be tested on the following two parameters.

- (i) Whether Dalit Christians and Dalit Muslims are following the same Traditions and Customs after conversion from SC as before conversion?
- (ii) Even after conversion to Christianity or Islam, do they suffer from the same social disabilities (eg,, untouchability, discrimination etc.) as before?

The NCSC has not conducted any study on this and independent study will take some time. Since the matter is reported to be urgent, the Commission recommends inclusion of Dalit Christians and Dalit Muslims in the category of Scheduled Castes, if they fulfill the above two parameters."

The Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment may be informed accordingly. A copy of the letter may be given to Law Ministry also. It was also decided that Commission's views may be presented in Supreme Court through a Government Counsel.

Agenda Item No8:Relaxation for SC&ST in the eligibility conditions for<br/>Research Ph.D and Lecturership in the Central<br/>Universities and State Universities – Shri Pradeep

#### Verma, Advocate-36, Tribhuran, Upadhaya Hall, High Court Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh.

This Agenda Item could not be discussed in the 9<sup>th</sup> meeting held on 14.02.2011 and therefore deferred for discussion in the next meeting proposed to be held on 28.02.2011.

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to the chair.

NINTH MEETING OF THE NATIONAL COMMISSION FOR SCHEDULED CASTES HELD AT 12.30 PM ON 14.02.2011 IN THE CONFERENCE ROOM OF THE COMMISSION.

#### PRESENCE OF MEMBERS AND OFFICERS

#### S.NO. NAME & DESIGNATION

- 1. Dr. P.L. Punia, Chairman
- 2. Shri Raj Kumar Verka, Vice-Chairman
- 3. Shri Raju Parmar, Member
- 4. Shri M. Shivanna, Member
- 5. Smt. Latha Priyakumar, Member

#### **Officers**

- 1. Shri T. Theethan, Joint Secretary
- 2. Dr. V.K. Rathi, Director
- 3. Shri Dhruv Kumar, Director
- 4. Shri S.N. Meena, Under Secretary